Books

Books I Can’t Wait to Read in 2022

Posted on

I feel like I just wrote my post of books I wanted to read in 2021! Last year really flew, didn’t it? The first half of 2022 is loaded with lots of great releases and here are just a few books I’m excited to read in the new year. I hope that you will find some books that you want to read too!

The Merciless Ones by Namina Forna

The follow up to “The Gilded Ones”, this second book in the series picks up after Deka has freed the goddesses. There’s a dark force trying to take over, causing her to lose her communication skills with the deathshrieks and she keeps seeing strange symbols everywhere.

Fans of fantasy, especially in the vein of “Children of Blood and Bone” by Tomi Adeyemi, will love this series.

Release Date: May 31, 2022.

Reckless Girls by Rachel Hawkins

Lux McAllister and her boyfriend, Nico are hired to sail two women to a remote South Pacific island. When they get there, they find they’re not the only ones looking for a solitary vacation – another couple has anchored their boat off the island. At first everyone seems to get along, but then someone goes missing and Lux begins to wonder if everyone is going to make it out alive.

Read this one if you enjoy mysteries like “Gone Girl” or “The Woman in the Window.”

Release Date: January 4, 2022.

Nowhere for Very Long by Brianna Madia

Travel influencer Brianna Madia writes a memoir of packing everything up in her orange van and traveling the United States with her husband and two dogs. Madia is a bit of a controversial figure on the internet, so this should be an interesting read to see if she addresses the internet haters or simply focuses on her travels, relationship struggles and the infamous dog accident that turned so many people off from following her.

Release Date: April 5, 2022.

Gallant by Victoria Schwab

I’ve actually already read this book, but since it comes out in 2022, I wanted to add it to this list so YOU could read it.

Olivia Prior grew up in an all girls school, never knowing much about her family. All she has is her mother’s journal. One day a letter arrives from someone claiming to be her uncle and inviting her to live at Gallant. When she arrives, she finds not only is the mansion hiding secrets, but there’s a shadow world next to it that she’s also somehow connected to.

Release Date: March 1, 2022

How to Sell a Haunted House by Grady Hendrix

There isn’t much about the plot of this one – Goodreads simply has “New York Times bestselling author Grady Hendrix takes on the haunted house in a hilarious and terrifying new novel that explores the way your past—and your family—can haunt you like nothing else…”.

But with Grady Hendrix, you know you are in for a horrific good time!

Release Date: July 12, 2022

Things I Should Have Said by Jamie Lynn Spears

Britney’s little sister has penned a memoir that’s already surrounded by controversy: a mental health non-profit turned down her offer to donate some of the proceeds of her book after public outcry that Jamie Lynn didn’t do enough to support her sister during the conservatorship.

I won’t be buying this one, but I do plan to check it out from the library and read it because I am curious what her side of the story is.

Release Date: January 18, 2022

Her Country by Marissa R. Moss

Award-winning Nashville journalist Marissa R. Moss dives in to the puzzling world of country music radio and how the women are only played on the radio 16% of the time. A few decades ago, that wasn’t the case – superstars like Faith Hill, Shania Twain and Martina McBride dominated the airwaves, but with the ushering in of “bro-country”, the women got shoved to the side.

Can’t wait to read this one!

Release Date: May 10, 2022

Book of Night by Holly Black

In her first adult novel, fantasy queen Holly Black takes us to a world where shadows can be use to manipulate feelings and create power and influence.

Charlie Hall is a con artist trying to avoid the world of shadow trading, but finds herself entwined in chaos when someone from her past resurfaces.

Release Date: May 3, 2022.

Upgrade by Blake Crouch

Logan Ramsey is about to get an upgrade -a new brain that will transform him into something special. But when he wakes up in the hospital bed, he finds out he’s instead been infected by a virus that’s changing his genetic make-up.

Every book I’ve read by Blake Crouch has been a winner and I can’t wait to read this one this summer!

Release Date: July 19, 2022


Processing…
Success! You're on the list.

7 thoughts on “Books I Can’t Wait to Read in 2022

  1. Raka

    January 2, 2022 at 11:02 am

    Great list!
    Reckless Girls looks particularly interesting 🤔

  2. Julie

    January 2, 2022 at 11:39 am

    you can always borrow The Lyrics from me when you are finished with your list 😀

  3. Sarah

    January 6, 2022 at 10:38 am

    I haven’t herd of any of these books but having read through them I can safely say that several of these will be added to my TBR. I hope you read and enjoy all of these books.

  4. Veronica

    January 8, 2022 at 12:44 pm

    Great book suggestions! I will have to read one of these soon!

    1. Kelly

      January 9, 2022 at 4:34 pm

      Enjoy! Let me know what you pick.

  5. awaywithkatie

    January 9, 2022 at 3:33 pm

    I haven’t heard of most of these so thanks for sharing! Will be updating my TBR list for the year…

    1. Kelly

      January 9, 2022 at 4:35 pm

      I’m glad you found some you want to read.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: